onsdag 17. juni 2015

Wallis and Futuna

Sender: A friend

Wallis and Futuna, officially the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands,  is a French Island collectivity in the South Pacific, between Tuvalu to the northwest, Rotuma of Fiji to the west, the main part of Fiji to the southwest, Tonga to the southeast, Samoa to the east, the New Zealand territory of Tokelau to the northeast and to a more distant north the Phoenix islands (Kiribati).  
Wallis and Futuna is not part of French Polynesia, nor even contiguous with it, as the former are located at the very opposite western end of Polynesia.

It has a population of about 12.000. Mata-Utu is the capital and biggest city. The territory is made up of three main volcanic tropical islands along with a number of tiny islets, and is sølit into two island groups that lie about 260 km apart, namely Wallis Islands (Uvea) in the northeast, and Hoorn Islands (also called the Futuna Islands) in the southwest, included Futuna Island proper and mostly uninhabited Alofi Island 

Since 2003 Wallis and Futuna has been a French overseas collectivity.  Between 1961 and 2003, it had the status of a French overseas territory, though its offical name did not change when the status changed. 

Flag of Wallis and Futuna

Ingen kommentarer:

Legg inn en kommentar