torsdag 11. juni 2015


The Kingdom of Tonga, is a Polynesian sovereign state and archipelago comprising 177 islands in the Souothern Pacifi Ocean. 52 of the islands are inhabited by 103.000 people. 70 % of Tongans reside on the main island of Tongatapu.

Tonga became known as the Friendly Islands because of the congenial reception accorded to Captain James Cook on his first visit in 1773. 

Tonga has never lost its sovereignty to a foreign power. In 2010 Tonga took a decisive step towards becoming a fully functioning constitutional monarchy, after legislative reforms paved the way for its first partial representative elections.

Flag of Tonga

Coat of Arms

Ingen kommentarer:

Legg inn en kommentar