tirsdag 2. juni 2015


Mayotte is an overseas department region of France.  It consists of a main island, Grande-Terre (Maore), a smaller island Petite-Terre (Pamandzi) and several islets around these two. The archipelago is located in the northern Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Southeast Africa, between northwestern Madagascar and northeastern  Mozambique.

The biggest city and prefecture is Mamoudzou on Grande-Terre.
 The territory is geographically part of the Comoro Islands, but the people of Mayotte chose to remain politically a part of France in the 1974 referendum.  The territory is also known as Maore, the native name of its main land, especially by advocates of its inclusion in the Union of Comoros.  Mayotte became an overseas department on 31 March 2011 and became an outermost region of the European Union on 1st January 2014.

1 kommentar: