mandag 6. juli 2015

Western Sahara

Western Sahara is a disputed territory in the Maghreb region of North Africa, bordered by Morocco to the north, Algeria to the extreme northeast, Mauritania to the east and south, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west.  It is one of the most sparsely populated territories in the world, mainly consisting of desert flatlands.  The population is estimated at just over 500.000 of which nearly 40 % live in El Aaliun (also spelled Laayoune), the largest city in Western Sahara. 
Since a UN-sponsored ceasefire agreement in 1991, two thirds of the territory has been controlled by Morocco and the remainder by Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR) strongly backed by Algeria.

Ingen kommentarer:

Legg inn en kommentar